About Us

Autism Tasmania is a community based, not for profit, incorporated association and registered charity, established in 1992.

We are committed to improving the lives of individuals on the autism spectrum, their families, and carers; and to improve community awareness and understanding of autism and related communication conditions.

We are guided by consultation with our members and the extended autism community in our advocacy for equity and fairness.

Our Core Values

Inherent worth: We believe that people on the autism spectrum are valuable members of society, capable of contributing to and enriching the lives of those around them.

Social justice: We value equality and recognise that some people need a greater share of resources in order to have equal opportunity.

Individual dignity: We value individuality, acknowledge that everyone should be treated with respect, and we believe that all people should have the opportunity to be involved in choices relating to their own wellbeing.

Evidence-based practice and policy: We value evidence based practice and consult with and seek input from the autism community to influence better policy outcomes.

Collaboration and community: We value partnerships with other organisations, and celebrate the diversity and achievements of the community we represent.

Professionalism and accountability: We strive to operate our organisation transparently and with the best interests of our members and the Tasmanian autism community in mind.


Our organisation is governed by a voluntary board of directors drawn from our membership, with geographic and skills based representation. The board is responsible for the oversight of the strategic, financial and legal obligations of the entity; and benefits from the professional expertise and lived experience of its members.

Board Members

  • Kieran McDonald (Chairperson) [email protected]
  • Annette Beechey (Deputy Chairperson)
  • Kieron Cornwell (Treasurer)
  • Tessa Moodie (Secretary)
  • David Donald
  • Peter Freak
  • Geraldine Robertson


Annual Reports

Strategic Plan

Staff Members

CEO – Terry Burke

Administration – Allison Lapham

Information Team Manager – Maree Morgan

Information Team

  • Jessica Benge
  • Jodie Denman
  • Ronsley Mitchell
  • Kerryn Pammenter

Training Manager – Robyn Thomas

Early Days Workshops

  • Jessica Benge
  • Jodie Denman
  • Robyn Thomas

Communications & Brand – Ben Lambert

Accountant – Eleanor Whitchurch